RELEASE DAY!!

TheZombieHuntersWife 200x300Yes, I know all caps is shouting on the Internet, but that is what I’m doing. Today is Release Day for The Zombie Hunter’s Wife. Book 2 in the Time of Zombies series.

It took 4 years to write book 1, Love in the Time of Zombies. It took 6 months to write The Zombie Hunter’s Wife. I’m aiming for 4-6 months for an early 2016 release of A Time to Kill Zombies, book 3.

Michelle and Teddy’s story was easy to write in some ways, but very hard in others. It was easy to put Michelle in the shoes of a police officer’s wife, shoes I’ve worn for many years. It was easier to write a character who feared the zombies and refused to leave her cement sanctuary to confront them day-to-day. That would be me. It was harder to show she had to pull up her big-girl panties and venture forth when that is something I haven’t had to do in the non-existent (so far!) zombie apocalypse. I drew on my experiences of coming out of my uber-shy shell to show Michelle’s baby steps to face the world she now lives in. It was also much harder to write a whole novel, start to finish, in six months.

I’m going to use that experience to work on book 3. Jack and Lila’s story.

So, I hope you enjoyed Book 1, get Book 2, and look forward to Book 3. I’m also working on a short story with Rogue Vantage, the little boys that were introduced in Book 1 and have much bigger parts in Books 2 and 3. Rogue Vantage, a Time of Zombies short story will be a newsletter subscriber exclusive and will be best read as a short story between books 1 and 2.


Walk with the Dead, Jill James

6 thoughts on “RELEASE DAY!!

Comments are closed.