Cover Expectations

TheZombieHuntersWife 200x300Last week I did a cover reveal for The Zombie Hunter’s Wife here and in my newsletter. This week I was on a loop talking about the cover meeting the expectations of the characters inside. Some people like the backs of people or with heads cut off. I do not. I love having the characters on the cover to look at and imagine their stories.

The Zombie Hunter’s Wife is Teddy and Michelle’s story. Michelle wasn’t really “seen” a lot in Love in the Time of Zombies other than dark hair, dark eyes, and petite, but Teddy was mentioned as an enormous black man, Oakland Raiders football linebacker big. On the cover, not so much! LOL As an author, and especially an Indie author we have to go with what we can get and that means usually stock photos unless you are willing to shell out some money for a photo shoot. Until I started looking for a cover couple I was not aware how hard it was to find a black male/white female couple for a cover on the stock photo sites. That is another argument for another blog post.

I love the couple I found for the cover. They set the scene well of a post-apocalyptic couple and the background is awesome (Elaina Lee is an artist), but it was hard to let go of the idea of finding a “Teddy” for the cover.

Do you as a reader get upset if the cover couple doesn’t sync with the description of the couple inside the book?


Jill James, writer of romance
The Zombie Hunter’s Wife – coming soon!

