R.I.P. Bertrice Small

Anyone who knows me, knows I will go on and on about Skye O’Malley by Bertrice Small. Ms. Small wrote of a heroine who took on Elizabeth I and won. She was my first view of what it meant to write a kickass heroine. And hot?! Her books gave new meaning for me of what a romance novel could be.

Unfortunately, this week the romance world, no, the world as a whole, lost Bertrice Small. At last year’s RWA National in Texas she was awarded the Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award. You can view it here on YouTube.

God Bless you, Ms. Small and thank you for so many hours of historical romance enjoyment.


Jill James, writer and lover of the romance novel

 

2 thoughts on “R.I.P. Bertrice Small

  1. I loved Sky O’Malley! Beloved was one I’ll never forget either. She has always been one of my favorites. Sad she’s gone, but her stories will live on.

Comments are closed.