Can dark romantic suspense be too dark?

scaryRecently, I was reading my fave author’s latest release and I started thinking it was too dark. Now I’m usually the darker the better, so why is this one bugging me. I hit on what I think is my problem: most of the book is in the villain’s POV (point of view). I’m sorry, but inside the villain’s head is not where I want to spend quality time. I’m always wanting to know the “why” of serial killers, but this book seems to be too much.

I know the villain is supposed to be the hero of his own story, but again, this is too much. I think it comes down to I want to know why, I don’t want to know why you (the killer) think it is perfectly fine and dandy to kill innocent women for your enjoyment to let off stress. Um, no! Unless you (again, the killer) are batshit crazy, that is not a good enough motivation to be a killing machine.

I never thought I would say it, but I’m thinking that dark can be too dark.

What is your mental line for dark fiction? How much is too much?


Jill James, writer of contemporary and paranormal romance

