Guest Interview with Chris Redding

Today I’m interviewing Chris Redding, author of A View to a Nerd, part of her Nerds Saving the World Series. We are comfy, cozy in our soft chairs in front of a beautiful fireplace with a roaring fire, enjoying the view of Chris’s favorite vineyard. The fields are barren right now but come summer they will be gorgeous with the bounty of nature’s grapes, ready to be made into Chris’s favorite Malbec wine.

ChrisRedding vineyard

Jill takes a sip: Mmmm, this is delicious as promised, a deep rich, cherry taste. I’m so glad you agreed to the interview. Picking the winery was perfect. It is lovely here. Shall we get started?

Jill: So, Chris, please tell the readers a little about yourself.

Chris: I live in New Jersey with my husband, two kids, one dog and two show rabbits. I graduated from Penn State with a degree in Journalism and am still a diehard Nittany Lions fan. My books are filled with romance, suspense and thrills. When I’m not writing, I work for a local winery.

Jill: Oh, that must be why you know about this great wine we are drinking. Everyone wants to know, what do you like best and least about writing?

Chris: I love falling in love with a new story. I find the beginning is the most fun. I get to think about all the situations I can put them in and how to get them out of those problems. The worst is marketing. I’m not good at it at all.

Jill: I think we all feel that way about the necessary evil that is marketing. We all wish we could just write the books and let the readers enjoy them. So, what are you working on now?

A View to a Nerd PB cover small

Chris: A View to a Nerd has just been released. It’s the second book in the Nerds Saving the World Series. Why nerds? Because I am surrounded by them. My husband is a scientist. My oldest is majoring in computer science and my younger one is a gamer who wants to be a forensic scientist. I have examples and primary sources right in my house. I love romantic suspense. I get to have two people fall in love and put them in interesting situations.

Jill: Love the idea of a nerd being the hero. They are the problem-solvers of the world. We need to let them be heroes too. So, what is next in your writing world?

Chris: After this book, I’m hoping to finish writing the third in the Nerd Series and publish it. After that I want to write a trilogy about three brothers who inherit a winery. There will be murder and intrigue and of course love for all three of them. Each will get their own book. I have a good bit of it mapped out in my head.

Jill: Great idea for a series. I can’t wait to read it. Any last words for the readers?

Chris: I hope you enjoy my books and feel free to contact me.

Thank you, Chris for taking time for the interview. As we sit here and sip our fine wine let’s give the readers an excerpt of your new book to read. Enjoy!

Excerpt:

A View to a Nerd © Chris Redding

Waking up next to a dead guy can ruin your whole day.

At least interior decorator Miriam Stokes’ thought so.

The Philadelphia Police Detective whose name she couldn’t remember talked soothingly to her, making her feel, not better, but at least calmer.

As calm as anyone could feel after finding a dead body. How did she get herself into these things?

Sipping coffee Miriam didn’t remember asking for, she eyed the cop as they sat in a flowered living room. Her friend Joe’s neighbor owned said living room. The friend she just found dead.

She tried to keep eye contact with Detective. . .Dasher, Dancer? Some reindeer name.

She could see him clearly now, her vision returning to normal.

“So you woke up and he was dead.  Didn’t you hear a shot?”

After swallowing the scalding liquid, she answered him. “No detective. I do sleep very soundly, but I think I had help from this bump on the side of my head.”

To indicate the injury, she pulled away the bag of ice she held to her head. The ice had appeared sometime after the first patrolman.  The lump began to throb, but Donner only glanced at her head. Instead, he scribbled some notes in a small pad.

How many murders does one have to see to get so matter-of-fact about them? Miriam shuddered.

“Could I at least get dressed? I feel a little vulnerable in my pajamas,” she told him.

Donner. The detective had introduced himself as Donner. He looked her over as if making a decision. He nodded, glancing around the apartment. “Do you have any clothes?”

She nodded towards Joe’s apartment.

“When they remove. . .” he murmured, then grimaced. She caught his meaning.

He turned his brown eyes back to her. “We’ll work things out. I just have a few more questions for you. Then we’ll go downtown.”

*****

Find A View to a Nerd at:

AMAZON

Find Chris online at:

http://chrisredddingauthor.blogspot.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chris-Redding-Author
chrisreddingauthor@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Guest Interview with Chris Redding

Comments are closed.