My Happy Box

I don’t write erotic romance–yet, so get your minds out of the gutter. 🙂

happy boxMy Happy Box is a photograph box I bought at Michael’s. I put happy thoughts into it–photos of friends at writing retreats, awards for myself or my books, ‘good’ rejection letters, and copies of emails from fans. Whenever I feel down or wonder why I’m doing this, I get down the happy box and flip through the contents. Oh, here is the email from The Wild Rose Press saying they want to publish Tempting Adam, I guess I do know how to write a little. Here is the photo of the Black Diamond chapter retreat at Lake Shasta, didn’t we have fun and learn so much? Or an email for a contest win when I was doing the contest circuit. Or an award for volunteering in my online chapter. They are like hugs from friends saying, yes, you are doing okay. Writing is sometimes a very solitary endeavor and I’ll take all the hugs I can get.

Do you have a happy box? What would be in yours?

Jill James, writer of romance and lover of happy!!!

 

4 thoughts on “My Happy Box

  1. Jill, my mind didn’t go to the gutter until you mentioned it. then I chuckled. I have a God Box for problems and so on but I love the idea of a happy box. I’m going to create one. I have a ‘feel good’ file on my computer and i keep things in it that make me feel good. but I like the physical version even more.

Comments are closed.