All We Have is Each Other

GingerbreadGrandparentsI was reminded of this yet again today. We took my husband’s grandmother (94) to an assisted living facility. His mother (75) is just not up to taking care of her 24/7 anymore. So we were all there to move her from rehab to a nice private home. We were with my mother-in-law and her grandson, our nephew, along with our daughter-in-law who lives with us. We kept sister-in-law up-to-date via cell phone. We do everything as a family. Always have.

I’m always amazed when strangers are amazed that so many of us are there for a family life event. Where are the other people’s families? Why are they not involved in a stage of their loved ones lives? We are links on a chain. For it to be strong, we all have to do our part, be involved, help.

When the day is done and an accounting is made; have you been there for your family?

Jill James, writer of romance

 

4 thoughts on “All We Have is Each Other

  1. Lovely post and sentiment. My mother-in-law is 82 and getting to the point where she may not be able to live alone much longer. She lives 5 miles from my brother and sister-in-law and they are awesome about taking care of her and checking in on her everyday and we visit as often as we can and my husband calls his mom a couple of times a month. Sadly, his aunt by marriage died recently and we didn’t learn of the funeral arrangements until after she was cremated. She and her husband had no children and while we called twice a year and visited at least every Thanksgiving or Christmas, very few of her other nieces and nephews visited or called at all. She had one nephew who lived in the same town, and he supposedly looked in on her frequently, but a man she paid to take her to appointments and his wife made the arrangements for her funeral. He was supposed to call my husband when she died and let him know the arrangements. He did not. Another aunt let us know she had died, but no one called to let us know the arrangements. My husband called two days later and found out she had already been cremated and the ashes buried next to her husband. It breaks my heart to know that because of the lack of communication, there were only 3 people at her funeral.

  2. When I moved my dad in with me, I kept hearing, from so many of his old neighbors, that not many people have family to help. My parents, aunts and uncles all shared in taking care of my grandmothers when they were widowed. My great-grandmother was cared for by my grandparents. It seems like a natural progression to care for our elderly relatives..So many don’t. Yes, it is work. Yes, it changes lives. But, I feel I have the best of my dad in his final years.

    • Lee, it is wonderful what you are doing for your dad. Some day a long time from now you will be able to look back with wonderful memories of time with your father.

Comments are closed.