Back to School for Writers

No, not actual school or workshops or classes. I’m talking about the Back to School sales at Staples, Office Depot, and such. Yes, office supply stores. Nirvana for writers. I can spend all day in a Staples store looking at index cards (did you know they come in colors now?) and folders and binders and pens and Sharpies!!

plot boardI use a white board marked in chapter grids and colored Post-Its for plotting my books. I get a new package for each book. I use the colors for POV; pink for heroine, blue for hero, and purple for villain. I use hot pink/fuchsia for love scenes/romantic moments and green for location/setting notes. At one glance I know if I’m in one POV too long or not long enough. I know the romance turning points. I can see if the villain is stealing the show.

You can never have too many notebooks, pens, and highlighters. (needs no explanation)

I always find something unique when I go into an office supply store. Something I didn’t know I needed until I saw it. LOL

What is your favorite writer tool to get at the office supply store?

Jill James, contemporary and paranormal romance writer

 

