Make MS Word work for you…JW Manus

…instead of against you.

This blog post listed below really struck home. When I first started writing toward getting published I avidly devoured writing magazines to learn the where, who, and what. Once I discovered that agents and editors and writing contests with RWA seemed to all want the same formatting for submissions, I set my WordPerfect to make my manuscript send-ready from the get go. Then I turned to MS Word, unwillingly, and kicking and screaming.

So, in 2011 I was published by The Wild Rose Press. I learned to format for the editor’s preferences. Then I decided to go self-published. Once I took a class and learned how to format, I did all that at the beginning of writing my story so the formatting was much simpler at the end of the story.

But this takes it to a new level. I now have a style guide at the top of MS Word with 3 little boxes; normal, heading 1, and heading 2. Awesomeness!! More details at the JW Manus website.

http://jwmanus.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/indie-writers-make-ms-word-work-for-you-instead-of-against-you/

6 thoughts on “Make MS Word work for you…JW Manus

  1. I use style guides and you can’t beat the find/replace when editing – but this had a few tips I didn’t know. Thanks for sharing and I am going to follow this blog now – great tips! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.