Looking forward by looking back by Jill James

Originally published in the Black Diamonds of RWA chapter newsletter

Edited to update.

*********************************************

Looking Forward by Looking Back by Jill James

Sometimes it seems in the writing world everyone is looking forward. Deadlines for manuscripts written, asking what your next project will be, asking where you want to be in 1 year, 5 years, 10 years. We are trained to say, “When I get published, not if I get published”. Always looking forward to the prize on the horizon.

Day by day, if we are serious about our craft, we will see improvement. But, will we recognize how far we have come if we don’t take time to look back at our beginnings? I’m sure everyone has heard a writer, maybe even you yourself, talk about that first awful manuscript, the one gathering dust bunnies under the bed, or languishing on a hard drive never to be seen. The question to ask is, are they and you brave enough to dig it out and compare it to today’s work?

Several years ago, I did just that. I dug out the then, ten-year-old children’s story I wrote for my son’s then-2nd grade class.  “The Story of Sammy Bootlebutt”.  I wrote and illustrated a story of Sammy the frog finding his place in the world. Even though my RWA chaptermates’s comments were encouraging, that wasn’t why I dragged it out of the closet. I wanted to show myself how far I’ve come. Sammy is an okay story, but simple. It was fun to write, but so are my stories I write today. Everything I’ve learned along the way goes into each story I write.

All the classes, workshops, critiques, and conferences add up to where my writing is today. I’ve learned POV, GMC, layering, subtext, using back story to build character’s, being organized, how to plot, using astrology for characters, world-building, and a dozen more workshops I’m sure I forgot.  I’ve now published with a small press and by myself as a self-published author. Sometimes when I glance back I’m amazed at how far I’ve come. Take a few moments and take a trip down the ‘memory lane’ of your hidden stories and you might find a gem, you might find a dud, or you might be amazed too, at how far you’ve come.

So, we all need to “look forward” to where our writing will be in the future so we can “look back” to today and marvel how far we’ve come.

Happy New Year and may your 2014 be happy and prolific!!

*

Jill James, writer of contemporary and paranormal romance
Amazon Top 50 Best-Seller

*
*

5 thoughts on “Looking forward by looking back by Jill James

  1. It was good to read this article and the reminders where we’ve been and where we’re going. I remember that book. It was very simple but sweet. Take another look at it, you’ve got a new niece or nephew on the way..Just saying.

  2. I was just reminded of my first writer’s meeting. People were asking me what I write and I felt so tongue tied. I hadn’t yet learned about POV, GMC, or the Big Black Moment. But I was ready to take my writing from something I did secretly to something I wanted to share with the world.

    My debut novel, BETTER THAN PERFECT will be out in April. Not quite four years after my first RWA meeting.

Comments are closed.