Hot Paranormal Nights Blog Hop July 25th-July 30th

So thrilled to be a part of this blog hop. Make sure you visit all the great authors on the hop.  Jill

hop

It all started with the tree frogs — Jill James

The idea for Dangerous Shift came like the proverbial light bulb moment while I was watching Jurassic Park for the umpteenth time with the kids. It is one of our favorite movies. In the movie Dr. Grant (Sam O’Neill) is explaining to the kids how the dinosaurs reproduced while all being female. The scientists in the story retrieved dinosaur DNA from insects trapped in amber. But the DNA had missing strands. So the strands were added from Amazon tree frogs. Dr. Grant explains that some tree frogs can change genders if the need of the group requires more of one gender or the other. In that way, the dinosaurs, seeing a need, also changed to have some males for reproduction requirements.

So, I’m sitting there and I’m thinking, “Wow, too bad humans can’t do that.” Wait, I’m a writer. They can if I say they can. LOL So a germ of an idea was born. Have shifters with the ability, not to shift to animalistic traits, but gender-blending traits. What if you could have a yin to your yang of personality traits? What if a man didn’t need a feminine side to understand women, what if he could take on that form, and be a woman? What if in a time of danger a woman could transform to have the upper body strength of a man?

In my story, Dangerous Shift, the characters have two names; one for their female form and one for their male form. So Lt. Nikki Hill is also Nick Hill. Lt. Sean Evans is also Shauna Evans. Writing a story where Nikki and Sean, Nick and Shauna got a happily ever after was some of the most fun I’ve ever had writing.

DangerousShift 200x300To enter to win one autographed trade-paperback copy of Dangerous Shift comment below with your name, email address, and favorite paranormal creature. Comments without an email address and the name of a paranormal creature will be eliminated from the drawing A winner will be chosen randomly at the end of the blog hop.

Blog Hop using the link below to the other author’s blogs to check our their great books and prizes.

47 thoughts on “Hot Paranormal Nights Blog Hop July 25th-July 30th

  1. Cindy Barton
    cmucha319 at yahoo dot com

    I think my favorite paranormal is a shifter of any kind…….find the books I go after first are the shifter books. Thank you for the chance to win.

  2. Cindi Clubbs at Mommasez…
    ccclubbs.com
    cc_clubbs at yahoo dot com
    Faeries!!! Always loved faeries–can’t get enough!! lol

    • Cindi, thanks for stopping by the blog. I don’t think I’ve read any faeries other than The Sookie Stackhouse books. Might have to find some.

  3. “Jurassic Park” is one off my favorite movies, too. I also think werewolves are kind of cute.

  4. Vampires are my favorite.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  5. I’m a demon girl, although I am a connoisseur of all things paranormal. I must admit that your blurb contained one of the most unique concepts I have come across in a loooooong time. Brava on such a groundbreaking idea.

    blueshedevil32 at gmail dot com

    • Sebella, (love the name) thanks for stopping by the blog and for your kind words. Dangerous Shift is my book of the heart. I think it was the easiest I’ve ever written. The words just flowed.

  6. What an intriguing concept….I’ll need to check this book out its so completely different from anything I’ve read yet.

    My favorite paranormal creature would be a dragon. I’m completely obsessed with them and now people are writing about dragon-shifters and making me one happy girl!
    dragon5174 at gmail dot com

  7. I love Angels and witches. They count I guess.

    Mary Preston
    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  8. Dhampires! Not vampires – though I do love them. The offspring of a human mother and a vampire father, legend says they are the best vampires. 🙂 Thank you! heather1974 at gmail dot com

  9. I used to be a total vampire fan….but Ilona Andrews got me majorly into shifters (Curran!!!)

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  10. I’m all about the Vamps.. I say it all the time.. lol Let them suck me dry.. 😉 at the neck of course.. until I squeal. There’s just something so exotic and sexy about them.. hence why I was so hooked to True Blood..lol

    vals_hemi at yahoo dot com
    Valerie R

  11. My favorite paranormal creature is the vampire. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

Comments are closed.