Sneak Peek Sunday

Sneak Peek Sunday Banner

So, I signed up for Sneak Peek Sunday for the first time. I’m supposed to show off 6 paragraphs of a WIP and then send you back to see the rest. Jill

Love in the Time of Zombies by Jill James (coming in June)

Guess you just never know. Who would have thought something as terrible as the zombie apocalypse would bring me something as wonderful as Seth Ripley?

Of course, the zombies got Momma, and Daddy, and my husband, Carl. Pretty much, my whole family. Okay, my husband Carl was an asshole so he was no great loss. Never could keep it in his pants, if you know what I mean. If he could’ve kept it in his pants he might have kept that appendage all together. But, it was the early days of the Z mutation and how was he to know the hooker he took to the cheap, by-the-hour motel had the sickness? I’m sure he didn’t realize anything until the woman ripped it off. He never was a great one for paying attention during sex as it was.

Five years of him spreading it far and wide and all I was left with was a one-sheet police report and a blurred photo of Carl with one between the eyes. The police had stopped trying to take sickies to the hospital a couple of weeks before. By the time Carl was attacked it was kill ‘em, identify ‘em, and burn ‘em in a pile. K.I.B. was the order of the day. A few weeks more and they skipped the identify part of the acronym.

Six months later and the police were all gone, along with the military. Now it was survival of the fittest. Never in a million years would I have pictured myself; little, bored society wife, Emily Gray, in that category. Guess you never know.

Your day can start so shitty and end so . . . well, not great, because there weren’t too many great days anymore. There were get bitten by zombies days and not get bitten by zombies days. But this day would turn out better than most.

I got zombie patrol for the morning, which is so not my best time of the day. But zombies don’t have an off switch so we have to hunt first thing in the morning to clear a perimeter around the strip mall.

Now, back to the rest of Sneak Peek Sunday.  http://sneak-peek-sunday.blogspot.com/

*

LoveintheTimeofZombies 200x300Jill James, author of contemporary and paranormal romance

6 thoughts on “Sneak Peek Sunday

  1. Welcome to Sneak Peek! GREAT Snippet, and man, I have to wait for this one? No fair! I want more!

Comments are closed.