Banned Books Week Sept. 30-Oct. 6

http://www.ala.org/advocacy/banned/bannedbooksweek

I think my favorite Banned Book was Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley. I think I watched the movie Demolition Man 50 times before I realized it was a retelling of Brave New World. LOL Once I realized that it was hard to see how I had missed it. I love that book. Another one is Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.

Why does it seem that all the books that make you think, like 1984, Animal Farm, Lord of the Flies, and Fahreheit 451 are banned? Does someone, somewhere think it is dangerous to have the populace think?

What is your favorite banned book?

Jill James, contemporary and paranormal romance author.

4 thoughts on “Banned Books Week Sept. 30-Oct. 6

  1. When you look at when these books were published, the world had a such closed mind, and was afraid of anything different. It something showed the sour side of life, or a unfavorable future, the powers to be, banned it. Believing the populace couldn’t handle it. Harry Potter in certain circles was also banned and burned. JK Rowling was in good company.

Comments are closed.