On Deadline

I’m so far behind on my self-imposed deadline for Defend My Love that I would laugh if I didn’t feel like crying. I let myself get into a mental slump, convincing myself that since Book 2, Dare To Trust wasn’t selling, why bother to finish Book 3? Then I got Dangerous Shift back in a rejection and convinced myself that I had to get it out there; in eBook and print. Now, that is a good thing, but that doesn’t get Book 3 published.

So, I signed up for Book in a Week (BIAW) with my online RWA chapter, From The Heart, and I’m determined to get the book done and out. I know I can do it if I just put BICHOK (butt in chair, hands on keyboard) I’ve written 50,000 words in two weeks before. Surely, I can pound out the couple of thousand I need to finish the book.

How do you convince yourself to do something that needs to be done?   I think I’m going to DVR the new tv show, Revolution and make myself not watch it until Defend My Love is done.

Jill James, author of Tempting Adam,
The Lake Willowbee Series, and Dangerous Shift – eBook and print.

