Picking Favorites, Booker Award

Picking Favorites, Booker Award

I want to thank Cyndi Faria for presenting me with the Booker Award. When I accepted this opportunity to share my top 5 favorite books of all time, I thought, oh no, how do I pick just five? Sometimes I read five books in a week. If I weren’t a writer I think I would love to be a book blogger. I love books, but my keepers, my ones I return to again and again must be exceptional books. They must have certain traits:
  • Unique: It must be storytelling at its best. A new twist on an old theme or a new style.
  • Characters: Ones that I remember their names and lines and speechs for years.
  • A Happy Ending: Sorry, but I hate books where the girlfriend dies at the end after they’ve finally said I Love You. Even zombie books have to have a happy ending for someone.

The following are my top five all time favorites:

  1. Skye O’Malley by Bertrice Small – This book is so worn out from the many times I have read it. Skye was the first kickbutt heroine I’d ever read and yes readers, there was erotic romance before that 50 Shades book. Nobody writes hotter but with class than Ms. Small.
  2. Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell – Was there ever a heroine like Scarlett O’Hara? A flawed hero like Rhett Butler? As much heartache as this book? Every time I read this book I’m left with a different take, a different feel for the characters in the book.
  3. The Winds of War by Herman Wouk – Pug and Pamela, Byron and Natalie, the doomed Warren, the golden child, all set against a backdrop of WWII. They were called the Greatest Generation for a reason. With death, devastation, and war it would seem that a little thing like love wouldn’t matter, but Mr. Wouk does make it matter just as much as the outcome of a war spanning the globe.
  4. World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks – I love this book. It is written in notebook style, like diary entries or reports after the war was done…or was it? This was storytelling at a high-bar setting. I love zombie books but this is still one of my favorites. I reread it several times a year.
  5. Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye – This novella is uber-hot erotica but it still maintains a sweetness about it. The premise was so deceptively simple: 1 elevator, 2 people, 4 hours of darkness. The storytelling upped it several notches. Makenna is sweet, Caden is tattooed, pierced, and shaved scalp of badness. Ms. Kaye pulls it off in seamless fashion. I loved it and Makenna and Caden.

Thank you for reading my Top 5 Books.

Now it’s time to pass the Booker Award on. I can’t wait to read what favorites these three authors have to share with the world.

Lee Lopez   http://www.leelopez.com

Tawny Weber   http://www.tawnyweber.com

Laura Kaye   http://www.laurakayeauthor.com

Jill James, author of The Lake Willowbee Series,
Tempting Adam, and Dangerous Shift – now in print

2 thoughts on “Picking Favorites, Booker Award

Comments are closed.