Reviews as an Author

I’ve been giving some thought to whether I should review books as my author self. On one hand I don’t want someone to think I just posted a review for a writer because I’m a friend, but on the other hand, how much ego do I have that everyone would know I’m a writer too?

I enjoy books just as much as any reader, maybe more so, since I’m such a voracious reader, reading 3 or 4 books a week. And I want to leave a review for my favorite writer too.

Just because I’m now published does that mean I can’t leave a review for a book I particularly liked? I don’t want to seem like a freebie review (one that doesn’t mean anything because I know the author) which is kind of funny, because I don’t know more than a handful personally, but I don’t think I should have to stop leaving reviews either, I’m a reader way before I was a writer.

The other flip of the coin is; since I do know lots of authors via Facebook, Twitter, blogs, and loops, can I still leave an “honest” review? And if I feel I can’t, does my review have any value anymore.

Writers: do you still leave reviews for books you’ve liked?

Readers: do you feel that a review by a fellow author is meaningless? Or worse?

Jill James

2 thoughts on “Reviews as an Author

  1. Great question, Jill. Since most writers are avid readers, I think it’s fine. The only time I’d hesitate is if the author was writing a bad review and writes in the same genre as the person she’s reviewing.

    • Virna, thanks. I keep seeing comments about ‘sock puppets’ and I don’t want anyone to think I reviewed a book just because it is a friend or someone I know. I have to like a book to leave a review.

Comments are closed.