Guest Blog – Cynthia Woolf

Today I decided to hop over to Maree Anderson’s blog. But before I left I had a nice chat with Cynthia Woolf. Enjoy a peak into Cynthia’s world and see her beautiful cover for Centauri Midnight and please leave any questions or comments for Cynthia, she will be visiting all day.

Jill: What was the idea that started your story?

Cynthia: When I was about fifteen and going through all the angst that teenagers go through, I had a dream.  One night I dreamed I was a princess from Alpha Centauri brought to Earth and raised by a family here in order to save my life.

Sound familiar?  If should.  It’s the storyline of my first book, Centauri Dawn.  The other two books in the series grew from that premise.

Jill: I love stories that come from dreams. I wrote my first manuscript that way. OK, so the question all writers get asked, are you a plotter or a pantser?

Cynthia: I’m a pantser all the way.  I do start out with a few paragraphs describing the story line but that’s all.

I keep taking plotting classes hoping that one will stick but so far…nada.  I know it would be easier on me if I plotted.  I’d end up with a lot fewer sagging middles.  But when I try to plot out the book I get tired of the story before I’ve even written it.  It’s like I already know what’s going to happen so why write the story.

Jill: I’ve heard a lot of pantsers say that. So, for a fun question, if you got a million dollar deal tomorrow, what crazy thing would you do? 

Cynthia: I’d by two first class tickets to Hawaii and stay there at our favorite resort for a month while we decide what to do with the rest of the money.  I know it’s not too crazy but what can I say?  I’m not a very crazy person.

Jill: Sounds like a crazy and fun thing to do. I could take Hawaii for a month. Wait, after a month I might decide to stay there. LOL  Readers want to know, what books did you love as a child?

Cynthia: I loved all books.  Still do.  My mother was a librarian so I had access to every book in the library, actually any book available to the library because she could order it from other libraries if ours didn’t have it.  I remember reading A Wrinkle in Time and loving it.  Also the Nancy Drew mysteries and anything by Emily Loring and Victoria Holt.  I devoured everything they wrote.

Jill: Wow! A writer’s dream come true, free rein in the library. So, along with reading, writers must have food. What is your must-have food or treat for writing?

Cynthia: When I’m home I have to have coffee flavored with French vanilla creamer.  It doesn’t matter if it’s regular or decaf as long as it has the creamer.

If I’m at Starbucks I drink a venti, skinny, Caramel Macchiato.

Jill: Ahhh, Starbucks. The nirvana of writers everywhere. Thanks for stopping by for the interview.

Cynthia’s Bio:

Cynthia Woolf was born in Denver, Colorado and raised in the mountains west of Golden.  She spent her early years running wild around the mountain side with her friends.

Their closest neighbor was one-quarter of a mile away, so her little brother was her playmate and her best friend.  That fierce friendship lasted until his death in 2006.

Cynthia was and is an avid reader.  Her mother was a librarian and brought new books home each week.  This is where young Cynthia first got the storytelling bug.  She wrote her first story at the age of ten.  A romance about a little boy she liked at the time.

She worked her way through college and went to work full-time straight after graduation and there was little time to write.  Then in 1990 she and two friends started a round robin writing a story about pirates.  She found that she missed the writing and kept on with other stories.  In 1992 she joined Colorado Romance Writers and Romance Writers of America.  Unfortunately, the loss of her job demanded the she not renew her memberships and her writing stagnated for many years.

In 2001, she saw an ad in the paper for a writers conference being put on by CRW and decided she’d attend.  One of her favorite authors, Catherine Coulter, was the keynote speaker.  Cynthia was lucky enough to have a seat at Ms. Coulter’s table at the luncheon and after talking with her, decided she needed to get back to her writing.  She rejoined both CRW and RWA that day and hasn’t looked back.

Cynthia credits her wonderfully supportive husband Jim and the great friends she’s made at CRW for saving her sanity and allowing her to explore her creativity.

You can find Cynthia at http://www.cynthiawoolf.com

5 thoughts on “Guest Blog – Cynthia Woolf

  1. Thanks Jill. I enjoyed getting to know Cynthia. I’m a panster, too. Why write the story when you already know what’s going to happen? 🙂 I love Cynthia’s covers.

    • Elysa, thanks for stopping by and visiting with Cynthia. For myself, I’m a plotter. I see it as putting down the bones and then my writing is adding flesh to the story. I’m a very linear writer and I need spot A, B, C to know where I’m going with the story.

  2. Jill, thanks so much for having me here today. I will be giving away a copy of Centauri Midnight to one of the commenters today.

    Elysa, I’m so glad that you like my covers. I love them too. My friend and fellow author, Jennifer Zane did them for me. She’s so talented. Her book Gnome on the Range is hands down the funniest book I’ve ever read. Laugh out loud funny, so that my husband asked me what I was reading.

Comments are closed.