Blog The Writer – Celia Yeary

Everyone, please welcome Celia Yeary to the blog. She is the author of the book with the lovely cover on the left.

Don’t you love that cover? I can just pretend I’m sitting on my deck, watching the starry sky.

Jill: Let’s get started. Have you been to any of the places you write about?

Celia: Of all the real places, yes, I’ve been to all of them. Many of the places I write about are fictional, but always near or similar to a real town. I live in Texas and know the state very well. It’s easy to make up a town in a particular place…readers who know might think…is she writing about Kerrville? Or Amarillo? Or Blanco?

Jill: I’ve been to Texas many times over the years. Every corner of it is different.  So, who is your favorite author?

Celia: My favorite author retired by the time I discovered her books, about ten years ago. LaVyrle Spencer. I have mentioned her repeatedly, because in my opinion she was absolutely the best. Her stories varied, Historical vs. Contemporary, but mostly were set in the upper Midwest…where she lives. But she could take an ordinary group of people and write a story that would just tear out your heart, and in the end always make you sigh with love. Fantastic talent and ability.

Jill: Darn! LaVyrle Spencer retired? Boy, the things you learn in an interview. OK, fantasy time. If you got a $1 Million Dollar Deal tomorrow, what crazy things would you do?

Celia: Interesting question. Since I don’t know how to do anything crazy, I’d have to think a long time about that. Material goods don’t inspire me, I’ve traveled enough that I’m not yearning to see anything in particular, and I’m not in need of anything. But I feel compelled to think of something. Let me see…I would buy a real luxury vehicle, I would clean out my closet, hire a fashion consultant and buy a whole new wardrobe, I would go to a dermatologist and have some simple cosmetic procedure done…not to look younger…but to look brighter! And I would throw a big party somewhere like Hawaii and pay for all my close, faithful friends to come for a week on the beach. How much would that cost? I’d probably still have a lot of money left, right? More thinking…thinking…thinking…

Jill: Cool, I think you covered it all. Vehicle, clothes, party with friends. Sounds like you would have a good time with that book deal money. So, let’s go back in time for a moment. What books did a childhood Celia like to read?

Celia: Oh, The Bobbsey Twins, Strawberry Girl, the American Classics about famous Americans,  and Nancy Drew.

Jill: Nice selection. I loved Nancy Drew. I see you have a published book. How did you celebrate your first sale?

Celia: First, I cried. Then I told my husband, and cried again. Then we sat down with a glass of wine and talked about the excitement and how, at retirement age, I had written a book someone would publish for me! It doesn’t get any better than that, and friends, it never gets old.

Jill: Isn’t that the truth? Something about making your dreams come true makes you young at old, no matter how long the road took. Now, tell us all where we can get the lovely book above.

Celia: The Stars At Night is available at Amazon, Desert Breeze Publishing, and Sony.

Jill: Please let the readers know where to find you.

Celia: I can be found at my blog, my website, my group blog, and my Facebook author page.

Jill: Thank you Celia for joining me today at my blog. If you have any questions or comments, just leave them in the comments and Celia will be stopping by the blog from time to time to check them out.

14 thoughts on “Blog The Writer – Celia Yeary

  1. Jill–thank you so much. Your blog is wonderful–I appreciate getting to promote this book, which doesn’t get as much attention as I’d like. I have nine published novels, two novellas, two short stories, and I’m in three anthologies. Somehow, Stars got shoved aside, but it has received the highest marks and praise from reviewers–so I’m happy. I do hope others will take a peek at the contemporary novel.

  2. Isn’t it fun making up towns? I created one in Texas in Nothing But Trouble (not out until April). You’ll have to tell me how I did, Celia. LaVyrle is also one of my favorites. I still have most of her books on my keeper shelf! Best of luck with all your projects!

  3. Celia, I don’t think I’ve met anyone who knows Texas as much as you do. When I went to Amarillo all I could think of is Celia lives somewhere around here. Your bookcover is gorgeous.

  4. Janine–I have all of LaVyrle’s book on my keeper shelf. She’s the only one that I have all of.
    I’ll try to remember to read your Nothing But Trouble. I love to create Texas towns. In Making the Turn, I created Del Rey, Texas–small town Texas. Thanks for visiting!

  5. MONA–thanks. You made me laugh. I lives hundreds of miles from Amarillo! I do know a lot, but I know other Texas authors who do, too. There’s so much, but if you’ve spent your entire life in one state–well, almost–and love history, that helps.

  6. Hi Celia. Your cover is beautiful. I love LaVyrle Spencer’s books too. I’m jealous, I only own one of her books – a copy of Hummingbird. It’s one of the few books I won’t loan out.

  7. Hi, Katherine–I started with the old paperbacks and the old covers. Then all of them have recently been re-released with new, updated, brighter covers. Now, I have a mix of the two. Being someone who likes consistency and eveness, I guess I’m going to have to buy those newer covers I don’t have. Then…oh, piddle. It’s hard. The old covers may be worth a lot of money one day!

  8. Good morning, Celia and Jill. Love your blog, Jill. My first visit here. And The Stars at Night is one of my favorite all your books, Celia. And I’ve read them all. They never disappoint, like books by your idol and mine, LaVyrle Spencer. Maeve Binchy is another who takes ordinary people and places and weaves an extraordinary story. I wish continued succes to with all your books. Linda.

  9. Mary–we’re all of a mind, I guess. I’m pretty sure I’ve read every book Linda Lael Miller has written, and almost all of Debbie Macomber’s. Why can’t I be them? Thanks for the additions.

  10. Linda–thank you for being so faithful…what a friend! Yes, Maeve Binchy, too, although I think I missed some of hers. Ordinary people stories always appeal to me more. It seems the books are more emotional if you’re reading about someone who might possibly be real.

Comments are closed.