In The Beginning…

Just like The Greatest Story Ever Told, every story starts in the beginning. It starts with an idea. With a hero and heroine or any mixture of male and female characters.

It starts with who are they, what do they want, and why can’t they have it. It starts with a journey to learn something, to become someone, to get someplace the character never imagined they would go. To get the ring to the king. To discover the force within. To get married to a true love. To learn you don’t need anyone else to realize your dreams, they were within you all the time.

In Divorce, Interrupted, my newest story, Lisa Miller is an unfaithful divorced wife. She wants back the life she had before her infidelity. She can’t have it because her ex-husband Todd will neither forgive nor forget. For the story to work Lisa has to not get what she thinks she wants but what the Fates know she needs. The writer and the characters may not know what they need until it is within reach and they suddenly discover it is what they wanted all along.

As the writer and the characters start on their journey we move from In The Beginning to the steps of the trip that will lead to self-discovery and hopefully happiness. Until we reach The Sagging Middle. (Next Monday)

Jill James

13 thoughts on “In The Beginning…

  1. I really enjoyed this story, Jill. The beginning left a lot of questions for me–I wasn’t sure I’d be able to get behind these two characters. But you won me over! 🙂

    • Virna, thanks. It was an interesting story to write since I’m not sure myself I believe one can forgive and forget and move on. But as I got to know Lisa and Todd I wanted that new happily-ever-after for them.

  2. It is hard to judge if it is possible to move on after such hurt. I know I couldn’t. But you made it work for me how they worked through it. At the end of the book the couple are not at the end of their journey, but only the beginning.

  3. Jill, this is not an easy topic to attack, but I’m glad someone has. I would like to see the hero in the same situation in another story of course. lol

  4. You definitely made it work, Jill. I too was uncomfortable at the beginning. I wanted to like the characters, I always do, but thought, hmm would I be able to forgive and move on? You seamlessly took me from holding back to rooting for reconciliation. And I meant to leave you a review and never did. Sorry. Maybe I can cut and paste. LOL

Comments are closed.