Blog The Writer – Emma Lai

Today I have the lovely Emma Lai with me talking about her book, Riding Rodeo. Muy Caliente, indeed!

What was “the idea” that started your story?

While Riding Rodeo is an erotic menage, the heroine is based on a friend my sister and I lost a couple of years ago. The idea was to give her a happily-ever-after. Both my sister and I think she would have gotten a kick out of the story turning into an erotica. So, yes, I would definitely be friends with Amanda, and I couldn’t possibly date Sean because he is based on our friend’s crush–though I had to pull from my own experience with bronc to completely bring him to life.

Blurb:

 

The last person Amanda Goodson expected to walk into her bakery was Sean Cassidy, the bareback bronc rider who rode her hard one night and left without a good-bye the next day. Since then, she’d sworn off one-night stands and cowboys, but one look at the man she called Rodeo leaves her hankering for another ride.

A nasty injury ended Sean’s career and left him with nothing but time to contemplate past sins, especially the most damning one…walking out on Amanda, the one woman he couldn’t forget. Eager to right the biggest mistake of his life, he finds Amanda–and learns he has competition. Never one to back down from a challenge, he offers to fulfill her darkest fantasy–taking two cowboys for a ride.

When the dust settles, will Sean’s plan to win Amanda’s trust backfire or will she risk her heart for one more shot at Riding Rodeo?

What is your must-have food or treat for writing?

While writing, I like to have coffee or tea at hand. My favorite place to edit is one of my local Starbucks. I don’t have a drink of choice (vary between lattes, americanos, black tea, and earl grey), and I stopped eating, for the most part, the treats when I found the pounds creeping upward. 🙂

Have you been to any of the places you write about?

For the most part, only in my head. The Mates of the Guardian series spans the ages from Georgian England to five hundred years in the future, and none of it has of yet occurred in the present. I also have a story, Slave to Innocence, set in ancient Greek.

All of my contemporaries are based in Houston or in Texas, which is where I call home. So, of course I’ve been all around the area where the stories occur, but the actual locations don’t exist.

Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I’m a pantster all the way. I’ve tried plotting, and my attempts fail. My characters drive the story, which is probably why some wips sit untouched for long periods. It’s like there’s a hundred voices in my head, and whoever screams the loudest gets the attention.

How do you celebrate typing “The End”?

You mean I get to celebrate? I normally send it out to my CPs and then bite my nails down to nubs waiting for their more than timely responses. After which, I work in their comments, do another read through and figure out where to submit it to. Then I work up a blurb and submit. For the week or so, I return to biting my nails. Once the nerves settle, I move onto the next project.

I don’t think I celebrate until I’ve finished galleys and get the production copy. Then, I smile a lot and find people to give copies to. I’m so boring. 🙂

You can find Emma @

Website: http://www.emmalawrites.com

Twitter: @emmalaiwrites
Facebook: AuthorEmmaLai
13 thoughts on “Blog The Writer – Emma Lai

  1. I’m totally with W. Lynne on this one, Emma! Gimme, gimme! This sounds likes a great read packed with deliciousness. And I think you are just fabulous for writing this story for a lost friend, and giving her an amazing story with a HEA. Cheers to you!!

  2. Sarah, I hope it lives up to expectations. 🙂

    Thanks, Mac! New releases are always fun.

    A.J., she was a special person, and everyone deserves an HEA. As for the “Gimme, gimme!” There will be plenty of chances to win copies over the next week. So, if you don’t win today, follow me around on my blog visits for more opportunities.

Comments are closed.