Blog The Writer – Amie Louellen

Amie Louellen is one of my fellow Wild Rose Press authors. Her book, Brodie’s Bride, is raking in kudos and becoming very popular. I invited her to my blog so you can all get to know her better. So grab a pina colada, sit back by the inside pool, and get to know Amie.

Amie: Hi, Jill. Thanks for allowing me to come on your blog today.

Jill: You are so welcome. So let’s get started. Would you date the hero of your story?

Amie: I would absolutely date Brodie. Aside from being exceptionally good-looking, he’s
an all around good guy. He thinks about others before himself—not just family, but friends as well. He’s caring and loving and out to save Savanna from herself.

Jill: Gotta love a hero that saves the heroine from herself.  So, would you be friends with your heroine?

Amie: I don’t know if Savanna and I would be friends. Not because I don’t like her, but we wouldn’t run in the same circles. She’s very wealthy, spoiled to the edge of brat, and in need of a firm loving hand. Marriage to Brodie changes her for the better, so maybe now…

Jill: Love stories with a great character arc. So, let’s get personal. When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

Amie: The 7th grade. We had to write a descriptive paragraph for English class, and I wrote
one about a frog jumping into a pond (I don’t know why), and the teacher commented on my ‘excellent use of alliteration.’ I didn’t even know what it was at the time, but I was hooked. From that point forward I filled notebooks with poems, letters, songs, and anything else that came to mind. I collected the works of others and my own, but I never dreamed that anyone actually made money writing! What a concept.

Jill: LOL I always laugh at finding out we can make money with writing. So, along with your own writing, which author, dead or alive, would you love to collaborate with?

Amie: J.K. Rowling—I didn’t even hesitate. I would love to crawl inside her head and find
out how she did what she did with the Harry Potter series. For those of you don’t know, I’m shamelessly obsessed with Harry Potter. Content aside, the series shows such focus and detail that I would love to know how she managed to keep all that in line (over years and many, many pages) when I have trouble following my own synopsis! LOL

Jill: Oh, the dreaded synopsis. Harry Potter may be labeled as children’s but I love them too. What did you like to read as an actual kid?

Amie: As a child, I loved the Beverly Cleary books. I think I read every one of them. And Encyclopedia Brown. They were short neighborhood mysteries solved by none other than Encyclopedia Brown, the resident genius. They were great because he solved the mystery, but he didn’t say ‘whodunit’ in the story. The author gave the child a chance to figure out the mystery, then turn to the back for the answer. So clever. And The Hardy Boys series. No, not Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys. After all, I like boys so much better. But it was also a television show about that time so I loved watching Shaun Cassidy and Parker Stevenson solving a mystery that I’d just read.

Jill: Ah, Shaun Cassidy. I don’t think I even cared what the mystery was, just getting to see Shaun every other week. (Nancy Drew was every other week too. So you had to go two weeks to see the Hardy Boys.) Talking of boys; let’s get back to Brodie and Brodie’s Bride and that gorgeous cover.

Amie Louellen–Brodie’s Bride

Available 6/24/2011

from The Wild Rose Press

http://preview.tinyurl.com/42hwrzj

Thank you so much, Amie, for being a guest at my blog. Jill

Find Amie Louellen at:

author email amielouellen@gmail.com

amie louellen–author FaceBook www.amielouellen.com

amie’s website http://amielouellen.wordpress.com/

amie at Twitter www.twitter.com/AmieLouellen

10 thoughts on “Blog The Writer – Amie Louellen

  1. I am trying diligently to get this book still. lol Until I can snare some extra money from a currently tight budget… dang priorities. 🙂 Great interview ladies!

  2. Oh my Lord, I haven’t thought about the Hardy Boys in AGES! But yes, I was die-hard Shaun Cassidy fan. Too funny. Thanks for having us over to the pool, Jill! And Ames, you KNOW how I feel about Brodie! Hubba, hubba!!

    • I kinda like Brodie myself–I already said that, didn’t I? LOL Gotta dig out that picture and give you ladies something real to dream about. Talk about hubba-hubba! Whew!

  3. Amie, thank you so much for visiting my blog. Your next visit will be all about your book. Looking forward to it and hope everyone comes back to visit Amie again.

Comments are closed.