Blog The Writer – Sarah Grimm

“Writer’s block: when your imaginary friends won’t talk to you.” ~ Anonymous

The Voices in My Head by Sarah Grimm

Ever try explaining to a non-writer what writing is like? How about where your story ideas come from? If you’re like me, your attempts have been met with a blank stare. Or maybe one or two ‘What you talkin’ about, Willis?’ looks.

Yeah, I’ve been on the receiving end of a few of those. Especially when I tell them that my characters talk to me, or more accurately, they talk to each other and my job is to take dictation.

Honest. That’s what writing is like for me. My characters (usually the hero and heroine) start talking, and I frantically try to get down their conversation. If I’m not near a computer, that means scribbling in a notebook. I even have a notebook in my car because I never know when my characters might start talking to each other. Nothing is worse than when my characters have a revealing, heartfelt conversation and I don’t have a pen and paper. Don’t worry, I pull over. I swear.

Then I go home and the real work begins–taking those multiple conversations and turning them into a story. I mean, not like these conversations take place in chronological order or anything, right? Sometimes the very last scene, where everything comes together and all question and doubt is resolved, is what comes first.

The really interesting thing—and most confusing to those people who give you ‘the look’—is when a character strikes up a conversation with you, instead of someone else from the story. Are you asking yourself, “What is that supposed to mean?” I’ll tell you…

Picture this. I’m driving down the freeway (told you I hear voices when I’m driving) and out of the blue Isabeau Montgomery, the heroine from my current release, After Midnight, speaks up.

Isabeau: I can’t tell you how excited I am about tomorrow.

Sarah: I know. Tomorrow’s our release day.

Isabeau: No, silly, tomorrow is the first day of the rest of my life with Noah.
The day I get my happily-ever-after.

Sarah: You’ve already achieved that – I wrote your story a long time ago.

Isabeau: I’m sorry to be the one to break it to you, but the happy ending only
becomes real once a reader experiences it. That’s when Noah and I have
everything.

Sarah: Oh. I guess that makes sense.

Isabeau: *laughter* I didn’t mean to hurt your writer’s ego.

Sarah: It takes more than that to hurt my ego.

Isabeau: Sure it does.

Sarah: So are you ready?

Isabeau: Ready? *more laughter* You’re seriously going to ask me that? I’ve
been looking forward to this my entire life.

*sigh*

Oh, that sigh is me. I mean, how could I not find that statement sigh worthy? And Izzy didn’t hurt my ego. I’m okay with needing a reader to make the story real.

I guess. Especially since I have no choice.

And that, for me at least, is what writing is like—interesting, fun, not always easy, and sometimes when I least expect it, surprising. I love it. Even if I never had another story published, I would write. Because it’s something I’m driven to do. Besides, how else do I quiet the voices in my head?

~*~

Sarah Grimm is an award winning author of contemporary romance and romantic suspense. She lives in West Michigan with her husband, two sons and three miniature schnauzers. Between mom’s taxi service, parts runs, and answering the phone for the family marine repair business, Sarah can be found curled in her favorite chair, crafting her next novel.

Find Sarah here:

Website:  http://www.sarahgrimm.com

Blog:  http://www.authorsarahgrimm.blogspot.com

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/SarahGrimm.Author

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/SGrimmAuthor

10 thoughts on “Blog The Writer – Sarah Grimm

  1. I love your conversation with Isabeau, Sarah! I hear voices too, sometimes when people are talking to me…and then I wonder why I can’t remember our conversation. 🙂

    • Don’t you hate that? I wind up listening to the voices in my head then having to turn to the person speaking to me and ask, “What?”

      My family is used to it 🙂

  2. Hubby is getting used to my characters jumping in at the least expected moment. He ignores me. He’s immune. It’s my granddaughters who looks at me like gramma is ready for the retirement home. My characters like to argue when I do dishes. I don’t know why that is, but since I was 15 and doing dishes- that’s when a great argument would ensue, and of course, I can’t write while buried elbow deep in suds (my dishwasher isn’t working yet but I’m ok with that usually).

    Happy release day Izzy and Sarah. I can’t wait to read your story!

    • ROFL! I spoke with an author a few years back, who would verbalize what her characters were saying to her. When asked about why her mother always talked to herself, the woman’s daughter would reply. “She’s a writer.”

      We’re an odd bunch, but I like it that way. 😉

  3. Oh I so know this feeling! I lose myself in the conversation and the real world fades into the distance. I keep a little dictaphone nearby (most of the time) and leave notes on that for later.

  4. LOL..loved your post! I find that when I’m driving I get tons of ideas as well. I’ve asked my hubby to buy me a hand held tape recorder so that I can talk into it when something earth shattering strikes. My b-day is soon, so hoping that’ll be my gift. I’m tired of pulling over to jot down notes…lol….but driving for the distances I do, my internal character conversations can get pretty in depth!

  5. Christine-
    The other place ideas strike is while in the shower. So frustrating! I’ve considered getting those crayons they sell specifically so kids can draw on the walls while in the tub. That way I can scribble away. 🙂

Comments are closed.