Wild Roses Blog Tour – Lynne Roberts

We have a Week 1 Winner – The winner of a $15 gift certificate to TWRP and a $5 gift certificate to Samhain is…..Marci!!! Everyone continue to enter for the weekly prizes and the Grand Prize.

Lynne Roberts wrote her first story out of frustration at the age of 11 because Gone with the Wind just couldn’t end with Rhett and Scarlett not together. 

She’s a hopeless romantic and a sucker for a happily ever after.

She’s been writing professionally since 2005 and, after reading some very talented authors, attempted her first erotic romance in 2009. 

A hopeless coffee-addict, when she’s not writing, editing or on Twitter—which isn’t often—you can find her in the garden, reading or with her five children. Sometimes all of the above. 

Lynne currently lives in sunny California. You can learn more about her on her website and blog. She’d love to hear from you. 

http://lynneroberts.net 

http://lynneroberts.blogspot.com/ 

Welcome Lynne to my blog. Please tell us about the significance of first lines.

“Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” That is the line that introduced, and hooked, me on Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina. The line makes you think, it intrigues. It sets the tone for the book. Once I read that line, I had to read the book. I wasn’t disappointed.

“There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.”

That is the first line of C.S. Lewis’s The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Now don’t you just want to find out why Eustace Clarence Scrubb deserved, or almost deserved his name? This line makes me smile and quite frankly, reading it now makes me want to read the book again.

Both of these lines do what a first line should do: they hook you. They tickle your imagination enough for you to open the book wider and read on.

The first line of a book is the introduction. It’s the first step on the journey through the story. A stumble here can ruin the journey.

As a writer, I try to keep this in mind when deciding how to begin a book. The first line doesn’t have to be a cliff hanger, or one sentence summary of the book. It can be an observation, dialogue or even description, but it must keep the reader reading.

I read a lot and although I read in a wide range of genres, when I pick up a book, I look at three things: the cover, the back blurb and the first line. Even when the first two pass inspection, if the first line doesn’t grab me, chances are I’ll put the book back on the shelf.

My oldest daughter shares this predilection. She’s called me just to share a really good first line. This method has worked for me. A good first line excites me, makes me want to drop everything, get comfortable and read. Only once have I loved a first line and not loved, or liked, the book. I felt cheated.

Have you ever been deceived by a first line? Do you have a favorite first line?


Please make sure you visit the other blogs on the tour. More visits mean more chances to win some great prizes. http://rosestour.blogspot.com  for itinerary of other blogs. Jill James

6 thoughts on “Wild Roses Blog Tour – Lynne Roberts

  1. I have been deceived by a first line before. It left me expecting one type of story, but was quickly presented with another type of story altogether. I used to have a nasty habit of finishing all books I started, but time is too precious, I’ve found to be wasted on a disappointing book. If I were to come across that book today, I would have immediately stopped reading.

    Here’s a good opening line from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.
    “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

  2. I do love good first lines and it’s my youngest daughter who shares that love. I’ve bought a book based on the first line, then found I didn’t like the rest of the book. LOL I love C.S. Lewis’ first line, but haven’t read that book. Both my kids have read all the C.S. Lewis books, including those for adults. Good post.

  3. Hi Emma!
    I love that line from Jane Austen; I almost used it. : )

    Hi Caroline! I love CS Lewis! It’s about time I read them to my kids again. ; )

    Thank you both for stopping by!

  4. I’m getting some really good ideas for first lines from all these great blogs discussing it. I really like the Tolstoy first line too, but alas the book left me a little wanting. But hey – it’s Tolstoy adn the Russians aren’t know for their cheery writing. The C.S. Lewis line IS a really great line. I do want to know! Now to master it in my own writing.

  5. Don’t know that I’ve been deceived by a first line, but I’ve been deceived by a book. It said historical on the spine. Read along for like 2/3 of the book set in Tudor England and bam! vampires. Totally did not see that coming. Nothing in the blurb, excerpt, nothing.

Comments are closed.