Where Did The Year Go?

It will be December this week. Where did the year go? Lots of people do New Year’s Resolutions this time of year. I do them sometimes, but most times they don’t last beyond February. LOL

I actually like to look back and see what I accomplished this year. 2010 has been very, very good to me. I signed a publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press. At the beginning of the year, my goal was to put myself out there. I did this. I sent query letters, I sent my writing out into the world, I posted on numerous more blogs, I accepted opportunities when they arrived. I did guest blogs, I agreed to a group blog with my RWA chapter, I put myself into cyber space to find other authors, promo opportunities, and how to navigate the world of e-publishing.

It has been a great adventure and I’m really looking forward to 2011 when my book will be real and in my hands (or on my eReader, as the case may be.) I’m looking forward to hearing people have bought it and enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

What did you accomplish this year? What event are you most proud of?  Jill James

14 thoughts on “Where Did The Year Go?

  1. Great year for you Jill. Me too – I also had a book published and it’s a wonderful feeling. For 2011? I want another book published LOL – never satisfied, that’s me.
    Sue

  2. Great accomplishments Jill. I don’t think I accomplished much this year. My latest book Rx for Trust won Best Contemporary Romance of the year 2010 and finaled in Epicon. I wrote my first paranormal romance but haven’t sold it yet, and blogged daily. But for some reasons I am left with a bitter taste as I haven’t sold a new book. Maybe next year.

    • Mona, it is hard to notice our own accomplishments. Congrats on the contest win and final. Excellent on writing a paranormal romance, my fave. But, best of all, blogging every day is awesome.

  3. Hi, Jill – Congratulations on a great year, and for taking the time to look back and take stock. (I need to do some of that too!) It reminds me of the great Tyler Perry story where he was climbing the mountain, and each step felt so small until he turned around, looked back and saw how far he’d come.

    Happy writing!
    Leah
    P.S. Terrific web site!

  4. Hi Jill,
    Congratualtions, you have had a great year. 2010 was good for me too. My novel Frontier Wife won the Readers Favorite Award in the historical romance section and Wild Oats is a Epicon finalist.

    Cheers

    Margaret

  5. Jill you have so much to be proud of! I can’t wait for you to post your list on here. I never thought my first book would be published this year or contracted for four next year. I’m so thankful!

  6. My daughter didn’t die in her recent severe misdiagnosed illness, though it was close for a few days.
    Two of my books were released with great reviews.
    I have a loving husband, two great daughters, multiple rescue pets, and everything I really need. Yes, there are a few things I want, but nothing I need more than what I have. That makes me luckier than most of the world’s population.
    I think that’s a lot to be grateful for.

Comments are closed.