Why I will never self-publish?

Not that there is anything wrong with writers who choose the self-published route. As long as you do your research, each method is right for someone and wrong for someone. I will not self-publish because I need an editor. I love the feeling of someone who knows my story and gets it, but can make it better.

Maybe 25 books down the road I would feel differently. Unless I had the money to employ an excellent editor I would not be ready to go down the self road.

Recently, I had to send a new blurb for my upcoming book, Tempting Adam, to my editor. The first one just didn’t work. So, she had me dig out my contemporary reading books and study back cover blurbs. When I thought I had read enough I rewrote my blurb and sent her this:

They both want the same thing – St. Eden Studios.
 
Yvette Giardino is a corporate raider intent on her next acquisition. Adam St. Eden is intent on keeping what is his.
 
Falling in love isn’t in the job description for either of them. Adam wants to hold on to his three-generation family legacy and it is essential Yvette complete this job to provide care for a loved one.
 
Someone behind the scenes is pulling all the strings, making sure mixing business with pleasure could cost Adam and Yvette everything they hold dear.
 
This is what the editor sent me back:
 

They both want the same thing – St. Eden Studios. 

Corporate raider, Yvette Giardino intends to bring St. Eden Studios to its knees.  It’s a job.  One her grandmother’s health depends on.  That Adam St. Eden will suffer isn’t personal.  Golden parachutes will see the multi-millionaire lands comfortably somewhere else.  Until he awakens sympathy she’s never encountered, and stirs her body in ways she can’t explain. 

Adam wants one thing and one thing only – to protect the dream his grandfather began.  But when the board demands he work with stunning Yvette, a woman he’d mistakenly indulged with in a little after-hours play, his world’s turned upside down.  Missed meetings, unhappy clients, and nights of intense pleasure – he can blame one person.  Yvette.

 With his corporation crumbling around him, can Adam rise above the fallout, and see his sexy temptress for what she really is – a victim of manipulation and a woman who desperately needs his love?

This is why I have an editor!!! She says it might get tweeked a little more in the chain of command. But Wow! What a difference. She knows my story and she gets it. Editors are priceless. Especially mine.

Jill James

6 thoughts on “Why I will never self-publish?

  1. Thank you for sharing your insight into the world of writing blurbs.

    Having a good editor is definitely a plus. I’m grateful for mine. She helped me take my manuscript to another level. As for blurbs, I’m nervous about getting notes back on mine. It’ll definitely need some major tweaking. And don’t get me started on queries and pitches. LOL

  2. I’ve read self-published books, that-well-needed a lot of editing. I’m no editor and I could see that. I’m with you, they get paid do this, let them use their college degree and earn their keep, by making you look good…

Comments are closed.