Loss

A friend lost her father-in-law this week. He was fine, now he’s gone. You can be gone in an instant; car crash, illness, accidents. Don’t waste a moment.

She was the friend I complained to about not having ‘me time’. It always seemed to be something. Errands to run, dinners to cook, kids to help with homework, groups I had joined, that I had no time to do the writing that meant the world to me. She said, “Don’t ask for me time, demand it.” She was so right. There will be always something else to do except what you really want to do unless you demand that people support your right to do what you want for yourself once in a while.

Don’t put off a trip you have been dreaming of, don’t forget to take time for your dreams. Sometimes tomorrow doesn’t really come.

Jill James

2 thoughts on “Loss

Comments are closed.