Our Anniversary

Happy Anniversary

Today is my wedding anniversary. #22. Ah, where did the years go? I can still picture my wedding day. Seems like only yesterday. I can see my daughter, only 6 years old being the flower girl, all dressed in lavender, her blond hair in curls. My soon to be husband’s sister was my maid of honor, I think she was 12 or 13 at the time, still in braces. Today they are grown women with families of their own. Each with a son.

My mom and dad, now deceased, were there. My new mother-in-law and father-in-law, now divorced, were there. Time is kind for some things, some, not so much.

When I look at my husband, he is more handsome than the day I married him. His face is as familiar as a favorite book or movie. In my memories that day is so vivid. His shyness, his thrill when the ceremony was finally over. He is not a people person and the day of being in the center of attention was rough, but he did it all for me.

People will ask ‘how can you write romance? It is fake, true love doesn’t happen.” Yes, it does.

Have you found your true love? Are you still searching?

Jill James

4 thoughts on “Our Anniversary

  1. A beautiful post…My anniversary was the 24th, and it was 16 for Poppy and I…

    Things have changed over the years. When we married there was only 3 grandsons, now we have 9 grandkids..And I think I’ve found true love.

Comments are closed.