Almost There

There are spots in writing where you are ‘almost there’. The last chapter, the last page, The End. See, The End is not really The End, because edits are next.

Some writers work very cleanly. They edit every line, every paragraph as they go. By the time they are at the end, it is almost ready to go. Maybe a little search for typos and such.

Some writers work not so cleanly. That would be me. I write balls to the wall. Racing to the end. The story is in my head and I need it down on paper. This means lots of critique partners and editing before I send it anywhere.

Doesn’t matter which method you use, at some point, you still get to say ‘almost there’. I’m almost there today with my editor’s first round of edits she sent me. It is getting the once over for spelling and grammar and one last read-through since I made the other edits she sent and I want to be sure it didn’t change what I wanted to say.

Then it is off to the editor, with me eagerly awaiting the next step.

How do you write? Do you get stuck with lots of edits, or are you an edit as you go writer?

 

Jill James

8 thoughts on “Almost There

  1. Hi! Involving an editor is the most important thing you can do! Hopefully, lots of other writers will follow your example because getting anywhere in this business these days means standing out from the crowd with the highest quality book possible. And we can’t reach that point by ourselves. We have to turn our work over to professionals, as you’ve done.

    If you have a minute to visit my blog, you’ll see that I’ve chronicled all of the editing phases for my second novel, sharing the good, bad, and ugly. If you check out the blog launch posting on November 4, 2009, the mission of the blog will become clear, as well as some eye-opening realities about the publishing world today.

    I’ll look forward to hearing from you.

    Cheri

  2. I’m a balls to wall gal, but I do some edits still. I find editing slows me down, will stop my momentum. So on ward, I go.

    • After a couple of years of Nanowrimo I’ve discovered that you can edit crap, but you can’t edit a blank page…..or the same page, over and over and over.

  3. I have a cast of characters clamoring for attention as I sit down and begin to tell their story. I have to get it all out. Unfortunately that means hours and hours of writing and hours and hours of rewriting. I have learned to write detailed descriptions of my characters and other important facts on index cards which has helped to reduce mistakes. Lately I have been trying out going back every few days and doing rewrites but am finding I spend too much time rethinking and changing things.hope to hit a happy medium someday. Being a writer is not for the fainthearted or easily discouraged.

Comments are closed.