Revisions

Recently I received my first R & R letter (Revise and Resubmit). To say I was excited would be an understatement. Writing is not a business for the faint at heart. So each “good” rejection letter or an R & R that makes you feel you’ve reached another milestone is to be celebrated.

Revisions are not easy.  You think you sent your best and an editor sends a letter back saying, “make it better”. So you dissect it, see where it can be stronger, see where you missed a connection, see where it can be better.

It has not been easy but I find my story better, stronger, ready to go out into the world again.

Has a critique partner, agent or editor made a suggestion to your story that made it so much more than it was before?

Jill James

4 thoughts on “Revisions

  1. Congratulations.

    This happened to me before. I was actually pretty happy because it gave me a chance to make my book better. I thought the editor’s suggestions over and she really had a point.

Comments are closed.