Grandchildren

My grandson spent the night on Saturday. He and his mother moved out of our house a few months ago after living here for four years. Yes, four years. I am so enjoying my peace and quiet. So, when Alex visits it is always amazing to hear him chatter. He can chatter for hours about his toys, his video games, and his days.

There are times I miss his chatter. When he visits I’m reminded of how much I love to hear him talk. He has a vivid imagination and anything he is thinking just tumbles out. Ahh, the joys of being 7.

We recently took him to Disneyland. He had so much fun. He talked for hours about each ride, each character seen, each meal we had. Everything on his mind is out there for the world to hear.

Perhaps he will change with age, his thoughts will become his own. But, I hope not too soon. I like my glimpses into Alex’s imaginary world.

Jill James

4 thoughts on “Grandchildren

  1. I have three sick kids home with me today, Jill, so I’d lean towards that quiet right about now! 🙂 But it’s the time away that makes us appreciate later, for sure!

  2. He’s a sweetheart, Jill. You’re both lucky to have each other. I can’t wait for my granddaughter to start talking. i suspect, like her grandmother, she’ll never shut up.
    Virna, sorry to hear all the boys are home sick. Makes a tough day for anything!

Comments are closed.