Remember

Sometimes September 11th, 2001 seems like yesterday and sometimes it seems like a lifetime ago.  You find yourself dividing your life into before and after 9/11.

We had just moved into our new house a few months before the event and it added to the disorientation to be in what still seemed a strange house, in a strange neighborhood, and in strange times.

My son was still in elementary school and I spend the early hours unsure whether to send him to school or not.  Sure, we lived in an itty, bitty town so nothing would probably happen but I didn’t want him out of my sight either.  I remember he stayed home 2 or 3 days until the principal called the parents and asked them to please send the children to school so they could get back to normalcy.

Remember the date. Honor the victims. Salute our soldiers.

The best way to remember is to have a family plan for emergencies. Do you have a plan?

Jill James

