Dreams

Writers live for dreams.  Our stock in trade is taking our daydreams and random thoughts and turning them into stories.  Even nightmares can become a thriller or romantic suspense.  Sometimes, writers have trouble knowing the difference between our thoughts, dreams, and our story.  They are all fighting for space in our subconscious.

I have a love/hate relationship with Nyquil.  On the one hand, I know if I take it tonight then tomorrow I’ll be all better.  But, on the other hand, I’ll suffer nightmares I can’t wake up from.  Some people laugh when I say that.  But it’s true.  On a normal night if the nightmares get too bad I can tell my dream self to wake up, but if I’m drugged out of my mind on cold medicine I’m trapped in a dream world worse than any Freddy Krueger movie.

So like most of life, taking medicine I need is a yin yang decision.  Like writing while still being a wife, mother, and grandmother.  I can write and feel so good I have the story down on paper, but the family is screaming I’m not spending time with them, or I can spend time with them and wish that I’m writing.  A lot of yin yang at my house. LOL

So, what do you push aside to make your dreams come true?

Jill James

2 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. As you know, my family is a huge distraction. The summer time is really insane for me, and it really distrupts my writing. I’m at the point, where I finally just said no to a lot of stuff for August. I took the first week of August off to finish my recent WIP, and told my family no visits, no calls, no babysitting. Their opinion right now means very little to me. I’m going for it…

Comments are closed.