Wild Rose Blog Tour – Jennifer Jakes

Welcome to erotic western historical author Jennifer Jakes. 

Jennifer is here today to discuss: Where do creative ideas come from? Take it away, Jennifer

I believe setting has everything to do with creativity. Not the setting in the story, but what setting surrounds me as I write. It’s based on the same theory that painting a room a particular color will invoke a desired mood.

For example, my WIP takes place in a warm climate. So I do my best work on a private beach in the Caribbean. Tropical breezes caress my muse to life while three incredibly sexy men attend to every need. Carlos lifts a cold strawberry margarita to my lips. Jake massages coconut scented oil into my feet. And Thomas types every word I dictate to him until my story is complete.

Now if I’m writing a story that takes place in a cold, snowy setting, I head for a secluded ski lodge in the Rockies. I recline on a mountain of pillows in front of a large stone fireplace. The crackling fire is a wonderful contrast to the silent snowflakes falling outside. Sutton and I share a steaming mug of Kahlua and coffee, while Spencer massages my feet. Scott types every word I dictate to him until my story is –

What? *My host, Jill, is waving madly at me* What do she mean this topic was supposed to be non-fiction.

You mean I’m really supposed to tell you where I get my ideas from? *shrug* I would if I could, but heck if I know. Sometimes I see something or hear something, and my mind just takes off. And it’s obvious I have an over-active imagination.  But doesn’t every author? Yes we do, Jennifer. Thank you so much for being on my blog today.

So here’s a question for you: What would be your fantasy destination? Beach? Mountains? Sailing around the world?

*Make sure to follow all the Wild Rose Authors on tour. Itinerary at http://rosestour.blogspot.com *

Follow Jennifer at:

http://www.jenniferjakes.com/

http://authorjenniferjakes.blogspot.com/

FB: Jennifer Jakes

Twitter: @erotichistory

22 thoughts on “Wild Rose Blog Tour – Jennifer Jakes

  1. I was wondering why Jen went on vacation and didn’t invite me. Obviously, I lack the right entourage. Hmmm… great fantasy destinations? How about a villa in Greece, just off the ocean and a whole month to lounge around?

  2. Ooooh, that’s what I’ve been doing wrong. Where do you find such devoted…um…helpers? Where would the ultimate fantasy location for the most creative output be? Hmmm, I’m thinking the Carribean island sounds awesome, but lately my creativity has been inspired by a bunch of lovely ladies in Orlando, FL. Who’d a thunk it?

    • Awwww. Thanks, Sherry! You guys inspire me too! And the Caribbean sounds great — mostly because I always think of Capt. Jack Sparrow ;) Now that’s a fantasy!
      Thanks for stopping by today!!

  3. I never think about how setting helps create a story idea, but you’re so right. YA author Gail Giles came up with her story WHAT HAPPEN TO CASS McBRIDE–about a girl being buried and trapped alive–after she was snowed in under 18 feet of snow in Alaska. Talking about snow…brr. we have just a little over a foot here and I’m already feeling stir crazy. Plots mounting galore!!

    • Oh, wow! Just the thought of 18 feet of snow freaks me out — much less being buried beneath it!!!
      I hear you on the stir-crazy. I’ve got cabin fever — and not a man who looks like Rafe in sight :(
      LOL
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Aaahh, this has set me thinking about my dream locations. Altho the thought of a Greek island is tempting !, I’d probably settle for an English castle, with loads of lovely knights, scrambling to show off their prowess, and loads of servants to shovel the snow and make sure my car–er-horse, didn’t get stuck in the snow.

    Thanks for the lovely break from reality, Jennifer. Best of luck with Rafe.

    • England sounds good! I’d go tour castles with you BeBe. Maybe we could find a handsome knight to show us around!
      Thanks for the good wishes and for stopping by today!

  5. The mountains are nice, but I love the beach. Any beach. And this April, I hope to visit my daughter and son-in-law in Germany and take a side trip to Italy and visit the Italian beaches.

  6. DANG IT! I was just getting into the swing of things when you stopped. NOT FAIR, I say. NOT FAIR AT ALL! Jennifer, your post made me laugh out loud. Love it. Now I can’t wait to read Rafe’s Redemption.

    • Oh, do I ever hear you, Caroline! If you drive this way, slow down. I’ll jump in. It’ll be a Thelma and Louise moment — but let’s skip the Grand Canyon tour;)
      Thanks for stopping by today!

  7. LOL! I SO want to come with you on your writing vacations…I mean work trips! I agree with you, you have a very bright imagination-can’t wait to see how it plays out in this book!

  8. My fantasy destination is Colorado Springs, Colorado to see my niece that I haven’t seen in 45 years. We keep in close touch by facebook, emails, and phone, but I would love to see her face to face. Her father died when she was 2 years old and due to circumstances, I haven’t seen her. Her mother has always kept in touch and I thank her for that. By the way, I live in the piedmont region of North Carolina.

Comments are closed.